Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility Skip To Main Content
Metro Deaf School
Learning Today, Leading Tomorrow

Board Info & Members

2021-2022 Board Members

Melissa Albert
Board President
malbert@mdsmn.org

Sara Klarstrom
Treasurer
skarstrom@mdsmn.org

Mark Zangara
Member at Large
mzangara@mdsmn.org

Susan Lane-Outlaw
Ex-Officio
slaneoutlaw@mdsmn.org

Amanda Rausch
Vice President
arausch@mdsmn.org

Joletta Lee
Teacher Representative
jlee@mdsmn.org

Isaac Roang
Member at Large
iroang@mdsmn.org

 

Dan Millikin
Secretary
dmillikin@mdsmn.org

Jena Bury
Teacher Representative
jbury@mdsmn.org

john

John Fetcher
Member at Large
jfetcher@mdsmn.org

 


Board Information

The MDS Board of Directors is charged with the responsibility to establish and maintain a basic organizational structure for the school, meet federal and state mandates for public schools, appoint director/s, adopt an annual budget, and create a climate that promotes educational excellence. Consequently, the school board initiate educational policies at the local level and have a responsibility for implementing a variety of state and federal policies. These boards provide important administrative oversight relative to the educational policies and programs they institute; play a central role in establishing systems and processes to ensure the school system's fiscal, programmatic, and outcome accountability; and undertake broad human resource functions that include making crucial decisions regarding the district's top-level leadership and key staff. Finally, school board provides leadership for the school, adopting a unifying vision and mission, soliciting and balancing the participation and input of members of the community, and advocating on behalf of the educational needs of children at the local, state, and national levels.

The board functions as legislative, executive, and quasi-judicial agencies. They must develop, implement, and assess policy; institute sound employee relations; conduct open meetings; recognize and conform to the legal mandates imposed by state and federal laws; and govern within the limits of a delegation of state authority. Additionally, the board has an obligation to assess its successes and failures; inform the public of all deliberations and decisions; promote accountability; avoid abuse of power; enhance public understanding of its mission; conform to standards of ethical behavior; provide a framework for setting goals; and develop strategic plans for the accomplishment of those goals. A copy of the Board's governing documents can be found here. (Updated 4.27.2020)

Links